You are here: Scholarship & Awards
Admission scholarship

A number of scholarships are offered to incoming Master of Arts in Language Studies students who (1) obtained first or second upper honours classification from their first degrees, which  are relevant to language studies (linguistics, translation, English language & literature, etc.); or (2) are graduates of the UGC-funded HKBU Bachelor of Arts programmes; or (3) have excellent academic record in mainland universities and good TEM8 (Test for English Major – Level 8) result.

International Student Scholarship Scheme (Effective from the 2017 admission cohort)
Scholarships are open to incoming international students in order to increase students’ diversity and enhance their exposure. The scholarship awards vary from 15% to 100% of the total tuition fee and will be deducted from the tuition fee upon admission. The scholarships are awarded based on a holistic review process that includes academic results, academic outputs, interviews, relevant test scores and/or other evidence of excellence and aptitude. 


The graduate who has the highest cumulative GPA in the graduating class of the Programme and whose cumulative GPA is no less than 3.67 will be awarded the Scholastic Award of the Programme for that year.

The Distinction may be awarded to a student who has attained an overall cumulative GPA of 3.67 or above, with no course grade below B- and no repeated courses while the Merit may be awarded to a student who has attained an overall cumulative GPA of 3.40 – 3.66.

Admission scholarship holders (Recent years)
Intake yearStudent name
2017/8AU Hiu Ting
TEJERO Ruthie (International Student Scholarship)
2016/7LAW Yiu Pan
LEE Cheuk Hang
NGAN Lun Fai
TAN Qian
WONG Wai Ting
YIP Wing Hei
Zheng Yan
ZHOU Jingyao
2015/6HU Jialing
XU Yili
Award holders (Recent years)
Graduate yearGraduate nameAwards
2016/7DUAN HongchengMerit
FANG JiatengMerit
SHI ChunyangMerit
TIAN ShiyuMerit
WANG PingMerit
XIA DanMerit
2015/6HU JialingScholastic Award and Distinction
CHEUNG Wai YanDistinction
KOBAYASHI KaoruDistinction
LU XiaohuiDistinction
WOLFAARDT Jacobus FrancoisDistinction
YIP Wai ChiDistinction
CHI WanjunMerit
Du RangMerit
HANG HongliMerit
LUO SongxingMerit
OU JialiMerit
WU ChunlianMerit
ZHAO PeiMerit
2014/5CAI LeiScholastic Award and Distinction
SHI XiaotangDistinction
WANG JingtianDistinction
WANG MiaomiaoDistinction
CHIU Hok YiMerit
CONG YanMerit
HE DongmeiMerit
KONG Man SzeMerit
LAU Chi Lok NatalieMerit
QIN XiaoMerit
SO Man KuenMerit
ZHANG YangMerit
ZHOU ShengjieMerit

Copyright 2018. Hong Kong Baptist University. All rights reserved.
This site is best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 and Firefox 1.0 or above